The training programme is competency based, and covers core, intermediate, higher and advanced levels of training in Anaesthesia, Pain management and Intensive Care Medicine (ICM). Subject to satisfactory appraisals and assessments over the training period, a trainee should become eligible for the award of a Certificate of Completion of Training (CCT). Recruitment occurs twice a year and training programmes start in August or February. Anaesthesia is “uncoupled” i.e. core training is followed by open competition to higher specialty training at ST3 onwards.

Core level training - Years 1 and 2

The majority of Anaesthetic CT1 posts will be at one of the District General Hospitals (DGHs), and will rotate to a different DGH for year 2. Trainees are expected to attend a Primary FRCA course and to pass the Primary FRCA during their first two years.


Intermediate level training -Years 3 and 4

The Final FRCA exam must be passed within 30 months of starting intermediate level training.  Trainees usually spend year 3 in Oxford to achieve the key units of training not delivered in the DGHs (cardiothoracic, paediatric, neuroanaesthesia).


Higher and Advanced level training - Years 5, 6 and 7

During the final three years, trainees should try to tailor their training towards individual career plans and subspecialty interests. Advanced Training Modules (ATMs) are available for trainees in year 6. Appointment is competitive and the selection process may involve interviews.  

Acute Care Common Stem (ACCS)

This is a three year programme providing training in Anaesthesia, Acute Medicine, Emergency Medicine and Intensive Care Medicine.


ACCS Anaesthetics CT1

The first year is usually divided between Acute Medicine and Emergency Medicine.

ACCS Anaesthetics CT2

The second year comprises of a minimum of three months Intensive Care Medicine and up to nine months of anaesthetics, and is broadly equivalent to the Core Anaesthetic CT1 year.

ACCS Anaesthetics CT3

This year is equivalent to the Core Anaesthetic CT2 year.